Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Newbie here. My wife has had two RX's that she was really loved and from a reliability standpoint have been excellent. Her current 2005 RX330 has 170k and has never had anything other than scheduled maint. However, after test drives the ML definitely seems quieter, smoother, and better handling than the current RX. She also likes the rotary nav control better and screen layouts than the RX's nav and trackstick.

I assume that some on here have compared them as we are now doing (I searched but found no posts). Thoughts? Is Mercedes reliability and service up to Lexus standards now (or at least very close)? Anything about either vehicle you prefer over the other?

Also any input on how the ML handles in the snow without the not-yet-avail off-road pkg would be greatly appreciated (we are taking them for a snow test this afternoon).

Thanks,

·
Registered
15 Posts
I think we are in the same boat. I have driven a Lexus RX300 for 13 years now with few issues to report. After road testing the ML350, I was impressed by the overall handling quality compared to the Lexus Rx350. ML350 is a much more dynamic vehicle and combined with the powerful diesel engine and the silky smooth 7-speed transmission, you get a fantastic driving experience. I also prefer the ML interior. I also think the ML off-road capabilities beat Lexus hands down. In fact check this video
. Ambarrassing for Lexus to the say the least.:eek:

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great video. Wonder how the ML would do. 20% (and 30%) is pretty steep, not something we see very often, though still telling about it's traction control.