Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1998 C280 Sport w/ MANY mods, 1991 SL500 w/ MANY mods, 1999 ML430 stock for now :'(
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So given that I'm totally new to the ML, I'd like to hear from some of you "vets" on your ML's winter performance, as I'll be taking my sisters in mine from Vancouver down to LA this Xmas, and there's some mountain passes that are quite hilly and snowy.

I did take my ML430 up to a local ski area last night, but didn't want to push my luck.

So what are the limitations you've faced with your ML's? I also noticed while studying the owner's manual that the 4-ETS traction control only works up to 80km/h? What happens after that? And with the Low Range, when have you had to use it to get unstuck and up to what speed did you use it?

Thanks in advance for the input guys! If everything seems okay, I won't have to freak out and trade this in for an Audi... Already too attached to my ProjectML =P

·
Registered
05 ML500 SE
1,482 Posts
tires are everything..

The rubber compound and how it behaves below freezing.
The tread pattern and whether they can bite in.
The width matters too with narrower tires cutting in better than wide.

With 20" wheels and summer tires it will be downright scary. With the right tires it will be dreamy. The ML is generally very good in the snow. I installed these and abso-fricken-lutely luv em. They are good on the highway but have a mildly offroad tread pattern.. very versatile in a lot of mixed driving scenarios. I also went from stock 275/55/17 (29" diameter) to 265/65/17 (30.7") for a slight upsizing. Did I mention I like the tires? :D

Arguably the best scenario would be 18-20" wheels with sticky summer compound for the street. and 16" dedicated winter tires for the snow.

I couldnt afford that so I went with the swiss army knife of tires on my stock 17" wheels.