Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
MB 180 W120(1962) MB C200 W203(2007)
Joined
·
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
High mine is a 2007 facelift C180. Lately I had the a/c evaporator coil behind the dash changed. Now the Multifunction display freezes and becomes distorted as soon as I insert the key. This is not the old amber display that fades away. Could it be as simple as the a/c guys not having fit the wire sockets tightly or something major? Any help is appreciated. W203 MFD Distorted 1.jpg W203 MFD Distorted 2.jpg
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,174 Posts
This looks like the instrument cluster has failed. Since it had to be removed along with the dash for the evaporator job, it may have been damaged during that process.
 

·
Registered
MB 180 W120(1962) MB C200 W203(2007)
Joined
·
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This looks like the instrument cluster has failed. Since it had to be removed along with the dash for the evaporator job, it may have been damaged during that process.
Thanks, Rudney. Is it repairable. It happened only after about a month of the a/c job.
 

·
Registered
2003 C320 coupe, 2000 ML320
Joined
·
635 Posts
Highly unlikely that the evaporator service had anything to do with it.. Any damage done to the display would have been immediate and wouldn't show up a month later..
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,174 Posts
You might try just swapping the LCD panel. It's possible the problem is in its Mylar ribbon cable. You could buy a used cluster to do this. If that's not it, then it's something inside the electronics of the cluster itself. In that case, you need a new cluster. You can't just install a used cluster because it stores the odometer reading, which is also stored in the EIS (ignition switch), and if they don't match, it locks out the odometer reading. Even SDS can't re-code a cluster to the car once it has been done. Technically, there is a way, with the proper tools and skills, to take a used cluster and zero its odometer value, and then SDS will see it as a new "virgin" cluster and allow it to be coded. Most places charge around $250 for this job, plus the cost of the used cluster you send them, plus the cost of having someone initialize it with SDS (which means an indy or individual as the dealer probably won't do it unless they also sell you a new cluster).
 

·
Registered
MB 180 W120(1962) MB C200 W203(2007)
Joined
·
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks. I will order the LCD display from eBay. Hopefully it is the problem and not something major.
Shan.
 

·
Registered
MB 180 W120(1962) MB C200 W203(2007)
Joined
·
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I have now removed the instrument cluster. How do I remove the lcd display to inspect or replace it? Do I have to remove the needles in the meters and take the whole circuit board out?
Thank you in advance.
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,174 Posts
This should help:


You don't need to do the entire disassembly, just the first 10 photos.
 

·
Registered
MB 180 W120(1962) MB C200 W203(2007)
Joined
·
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thanks Rodney.
But mine is a facelift model with display in white.
Please see the photo at the top in post 1.
I can't find the instructions for removing the lcd screen anywhere including youtube. There is no ribbon connector visible at the back of the circuit board.
Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks.
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,174 Posts
Oh, sorry about that! I have not disassembled the facelift cluster, but I can;t imagine it would be terribly different.
 

·
Registered
MB 180 W120(1962) MB C200 W203(2007)
Joined
·
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I have found a used instrument cluster of the same PN as mine, MB A 203 540 87 47 xxxxxx. But when I fit that to the car, the odometer reading goes -----------. I was told that I must go to the dealer to reprogram the cluster.
Can I, if I could, just take out the display unit from this cluster and fix it to my original cluster without the need for reprogramming? Looks like I have to remove the needles from all the 4 meters to get access to the display and its ribbon connector. Any thoughts please.
 

·
Registered
New: 2005 w211 E270 132kw; Old: 2001, w203, C220 105kw
Joined
·
90 Posts
I have found a used instrument cluster of the same PN as mine, MB A 203 540 87 47 xxxxxx. But when I fit that to the car, the odometer reading goes -----------. I was told that I must go to the dealer to reprogram the cluster.
Can I, if I could, just take out the display unit from this cluster and fix it to my original cluster without the need for reprogramming? Looks like I have to remove the needles from all the 4 meters to get access to the display and its ribbon connector. Any thoughts please.
That will NOT fix your issue. Chip in the board needs to be "married" to the rest of the car. Your only way of fixing/getting it to show oddo is to get it to someone who knows to do it. Replacing the display will do absolutely nothing.
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,174 Posts
I have found a used instrument cluster of the same PN as mine, MB A 203 540 87 47 xxxxxx. But when I fit that to the car, the odometer reading goes -----------. I was told that I must go to the dealer to reprogram the cluster.
Can I, if I could, just take out the display unit from this cluster and fix it to my original cluster without the need for reprogramming? Looks like I have to remove the needles from all the 4 meters to get access to the display and its ribbon connector. Any thoughts please.
See my post, #5 above.
 

·
Registered
MB 180 W120(1962) MB C200 W203(2007)
Joined
·
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Thanks, Rodney. It looks like I have to remove the needles to get to the display and the ribbon connector which is sandwiched between the display glass and the circuit board.
I will try it this weekend.
I have found a local guy who is willing to sell his used cluster all programmed to fit into my car.
He repairs electronic gadgets including ECU. But at a price.
Let me try my luck with swapping the lcd from the used cluster I bought from a wrecker. If I fail, I will go to the other guy and buy the cluster, programmed and fit into my car.
I'll post here what happens.
 

·
Registered
MB 180 W120(1962) MB C200 W203(2007)
Joined
·
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Good news guys and thanks again to Rodney. I swapped the lcd display unit from the wreckers cluster to mine. Thank God, it works beautifully, including the original odometer reading.
But there is a problem. I don't seem to be able to set the needles at zero. Every time I take out the cluster to set the readings at zero, they go back to below zero when the cable is connected.
Is there anything I am missing out?
Thanks.
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,174 Posts
Remove the needles, connect the cluster to the power source, then place them at zero.
 

·
Registered
MB 180 W120(1962) MB C200 W203(2007)
Joined
·
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
Thanks, Rodney. I will do that later today and post the results.
 

·
Registered
MB 180 W120(1962) MB C200 W203(2007)
Joined
·
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Thanks again, Rodney. All systems go. The zero readings are a teeny weeny bit off. I suppose at my age my hands are not that steady. I don't want to redo the whole thing again, worried may cause some irrepairable damage. I can live with that tiny off readings.
Big thanks to everybody in the forum who chipped in.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top