Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
'04 SIIK
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone.

I'm a MB newbie and have some quick questions for you guys.

First, let me introduce myself. Names Mikey, I live in Schaumburg, IL. 21 years old and a proud owner of Honda S2000.

2nd, let me tell you that SIIKs a Fantastic car. Looks wonderful, 240HP from 2.2L 4 cylinder(not bad), sporty, track ready handling, and it's not so expensive. Though, spent countless money tuning the car.

OK, now I'll get to the point. I'm liking both SLK55 and XLR. I have hard time making the best/right choice. I'm trying to move up a lvl, from pure bred sporty cars to luxo-sporty cars. Both have ups and downs. I may be picky, but I would want something I'll be satisfied with.

BTW, I have test drove both cars. Awesome rides. Oh and am not looking forward to race.

First up MB SLK55
PROS - 7speed gears
V8 355hp @ 5,750 rpm 376lb-ft @ 3,500 rpm
0-60MPH under 5(?)
Roof down from outside
AMG Speedshift 35% faster
Very comfortable interior
2-tone nappa leather seats
ETC...
CONS - bit small maybe smaller than my SIIK

Next will be the XLR
PROS - Looks sharp
4.6L Northstar V8 VVT
DVD player with touch screen and voice recog.
Onstar
Coolseats
Active cruise control
HUD
Magnetic Ride Control
Keyless entry with start button
ETC...
definitely a head-turner
CONS - bit long, wide, high and heavy
5Speed
high dashboard (I'm 6ft. yet very hard to see the front)

Inconclusion, I'm leaning towards MB SLK55 AMG. Still, XLR is a badass car. Any suggestions/advices will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Ps - Shinigami(god of death I believe...)and masmole, seems like you guys have much knowledge on SLK55. Please comment or respond to this newbie. Thanks again.

·
Registered
SLK 55 AMG
3,560 Posts
There's other people here too with lots of knowledge of the 55 (because they own one [;)]).