Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Daily Drive 82 240D 4 speed
291 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I recently found a 78 450SL for sale in my area. Asking price is $2,000, but the ad says it needs a fuel pump. (im guessing pricey) I'm thinking about checking it out soon to see how the body looks (rust,leaks,respray ect). It supposedly has 60k on the clock, which makes me feel good about the rest of the drivetrain. If the pump is in fact the only mechanical issue, i could probably pull it from a parts car or something.

I've been becoming a slightly competent DIYer from working on my diesel w123, as it's a really really simple built machine, and it got me to be friends with a local european car shop as the shop owner is a w123 fanatic. (free repairs, though i usually will go pick up stuff for the shop or get him a bottle of wine or something)

Now I'm a college student, and I'll probably be keeping the w123 as a daily driver, if funding works out the 107 could be a weekender. Either way I'll have some time to get the 107 running and hopefully good to go by late spring early summer.

Would you guys say that price is too high? If so what would be a better offer? How difficult / expensive would it be to replace the fuel pump? Anything I should be looking out specifically? (I've heard the climate control can be a pain) All thoughts, opinions and input greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks!

·
Registered
1978 450SL (RIP); 2007 Impala 9C3 (Police); 2010 Ford Edge
212 Posts
$2K? You gotta see it first to begin judging. if its a 'driver'....sounds reasonable.