Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
96 s320 and 97 e320
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about putting the really nice rims from my s320 onto my e320. My lug bolts for the s320 are 14x1.5 28mm conical, not ball. I see on RADs website the recommended R14 ball with a 12x1.5 thread but they don't have anything similar in a cone seat. Should I order the 12x1.5 in a 28mm, or maybe 26mm, and assume the cone will seat OK? Or should I not even think about putting these rims on because it wouldn't be safe? And yes I am aware that the tire size difference between the s320 and e320 will mess with my speedo...

·
Registered
1997 e320 2005 Harley 1200 custom
37 Posts
I am no expert. If it was me I'd call around to a few wheel and rim shops and see what they have to say, these guys have probably seen it all and would be able to tell you yea prolly no biggie or dont even think about it.

·
Registered
'01-E320 & 02-ST2
31,631 Posts
Why waste your time? IIRC you can't run those tire sizes on the 210 chassis, they will rub.

If you are willing to buy new tires, then call Phil at rad and ask him if the conical angles are the same for 12 & 14 mm bolts.

And, of course, check your offsets. The S is different than the E, and since those are aftermarket wheels, there is no telling what they are. Clearly the offset is compatible with the S chassis, whether it's too far off to work with the 210 is an unknown.

Good luck.

·
Registered
'04 W211 E240, MY10 W204 C300
825 Posts
Are you sure you have the right lug bolts for those wheels?
I bought a set of 18inch AMG wheels and they came with conical lug bolts. They aren't the right ones for the job.
here's an image of the conical bolt next to a correct domed one.
Note that the wear on the cone is concentrated in one small spot. - i.e. not seating to the wheel correctly.

If you wheels do take conical lug bolts you maybe able to change the bolt inserts.
As per this (came from wheel sticky)
Wheel Inserts

·