Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
Mercedes Benz E320 W210 1996
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys:)
This is my first post and i am quite new to owning a E320 sedan , the vehicle belonged to my late father and i have decided to keep it for a while as it is in good condition and runs well , i had it serviced recently and all seems good , i purchased a set of Amg style III 18 inch rims 4x8 inch at a very good price and had them fitted today with Dunlop Fast response 235x40x18 tyres all round , the ride is fine and feels good but as i have read the wheel arch gap seems quite large , i do not want to mod the suspension with new springs as i am not after a sports machine just a nice neat ride . I have read that you can swap the suspension pads which will lower it slightly at minimal cost , i think something like 5 down to 1 ? sorry for my ignorance on this but have no experience in lowering.
The Amgs look great just a bit to much height. would changing just the pads make a pleasant difference to the height appearance ? , the car came with standard 16 inch alloy rims , quite nice but a bit dated.;)

·
Registered
'01-E320 & 02-ST2
31,631 Posts
Sorry about the loss, but glad you're keeping the car around.

Hop into the stickies and you'll find lots of info, including about this.

You probably have threes in the front and going to ones will only gain you 1/3 of an inch or so. I installed Eibachs, and the drop to the front was perfect (about an inch) with barely any effect on ride quality. Of course I'm on 17s, so it might be a bit harsher with 18s. You could also cut off one coil, so you'd maintain close to your original spring rate; use the search function as there are several threads on that.

Good luck.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3