Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
'00 E55, '88 BMW 535I
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this forum, so hello all.

I've been doing research into buying a '00 E55. I has 34K miles in mint condition has 3 years left on the Starmark extended warranty and the VMI is pretty clean. It's in absolutely mint condition. One issue though:

I test drove it tonight and felt a bit off with the fact that I had to depress the gas pedal a bit before there was a response. This shouldn't be normal right? I'm guessing this is a MAF problem (covered under warranty) but never had a MAF problem on my previous cars and have never driven a MB in my life. Could it just be that the throttle needs adjustment? If it's a problem that could be handled by the warranty then it's all cool, but I would appreciate any help the "Actual" owners could provide a potential owner

ohhhhh it's such a sweet car.

·
Registered
'01 E55
2 Posts
I'm new to the E55 ranks, but I believe the car has an adaptive transmission that learns your driving styles. Others please correct me if I'm wrong. As a side note, this past weekend I picked up a new to me '01 E55 and left my Audi A8 (slightly modified) and am still amazed every time I get behind the wheel the amazing engineering and smiles per mile this vehicle delivers. Please let me know if any events/gatherings will be held around the VIR outside Danville, VA.[:D]

·
Registered
'00 E55, '88 BMW 535I
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It just seems like there is TOO much movement before there is a response, I can't imagine it should be like this. This isn't a "lag" or "hesitation" so maybe it's not a MAF issue. Is the E55 a "fly-by-wire" throttle? Then I could see it as potentially a position sensor that's out of wack. Otherwise it may be a throttle cable adjustment or spring that needs replacement.