Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there. Newbie here with some questions.

If I were to be in the market for a first gen SLK230 for some weekend fun driving what would I need to look out for? Any warning signs I should be aware of? Since you have had experience with this model what are prone to fail over time and what are the weak points of the model?

How should I evaluate the top mechanism and other electrical items that I am told I should be wary about.

Your help would greatly be appreciated so I can evaluate some models I check.

·
Registered
C230K Sport Sedan
5,368 Posts
You can take the car to an MB mechanic and have them go over it, worth the $50-100 if you are not mechanically inclined. Personally I can drive a car and tell if there's something wrong. Then after I drive it I crawl underneath and look for any fluid leaks (rear diff leak can set you back $500). While down there I look for signs of collision repair, most body shops don't spend too much time masking under the car so you can see if there's overspray. Of course just knowing something is not right may not be enough information, you need to know if it's something minor or something major and a good mechanic should be able to tell you that. For example, say the turn signals don't blink, you may think, wow, that's just a $7 relay, wrong!, it's a $800 turn signal module and 2 hours of repair time (really 10 minutes but the mechanic has a boat payment to make). On the otherhand you may find the top doesn't go up or down, maybe it's a stuck switch that's relatively cheap to fix.

·
Registered
1 Posts
i'm also a newbie here and I was just about to ask the same question. Things I should look out for?

How long can I expect the slk230 motor to last?

Are there certain thing that's known to break (for example e39 bmw 5-series's water pump craps out after 80k or e36 bmw 3-series's rear shock towers cracks)?