Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
'84 300D/ dakota benz trk. Sold... miss it. "88 260E '91 190E 2.6 '89 Volvo 240DL "85 300D
1,252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have any of you ever done the suspension component refurb on the front that affects the wheel straight ahead position? Forgive my ignorance I cant remember the name of the component. "upper control arm" ??? It connects to the sway bar on the front and to the front wheel. It has a bushing inside that wears out and when its gone you will notice that the front wheels will lean in at the top like the car is sagging. I have one side that is starting to do that and would like some tips on changing out this part. I believe the part is aluminum. My other 123s had this problem and I never took the time to repair so I have no knowledge of this task.

·
Registered
1984 Mercedes 300D Turbo Diesel
6 Posts
Hello *******... if the top of the wheel is leaning towards the inside of the car, I believe you have a negative camber and you'll need to replace a bushing in the "lower control arm". ( I've read it here in the forum somewhere) It's a $270.00 job per All Data program at my independent shop. The bushing is about $40.00 for the set. Hope this helps...

·
Registered
2000 W202 Mercedes-Benz C250 Turbodiesel
1,450 Posts
Hello *******... if the top of the wheel is leaning towards the inside of the car, I believe you have a negative camber and you'll need to replace a bushing in the "lower control arm". ( I've read it here in the forum somewhere) It's a $270.00 job per All Data program at my independent shop. The bushing is about $40.00 for the set. Hope this helps...
I don't completely agree. I also had an issue of the front wheels leaning inward, forming a / \ profile when viewed from the front. Replacing the upper control arms solved the issue.

·
Registered
'84 300D/ dakota benz trk. Sold... miss it. "88 260E '91 190E 2.6 '89 Volvo 240DL "85 300D
1,252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·