Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1999 SLK230/ 2006 Passat/ 1995 Bronco (Prerunner)
Joined
·
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Figured I'd start a new thread instead of Hi-jacking the autozone codes thread again.

I got the car back today (towed to dealer 4pm yesterday). $350.00 total repair cost, though I have a bit of a "hook up". Part was "speed sensor" in transmission but autozone code only said P0715 Input/turbine speed sensor A failure". I was charged $150 labor to install said sensor and $200 for sensor and new fluid needed during replacement. I didn't even mind buying more fluid even though I had the trans serviced 4 weeks ago!!! ANYTHING is better than the $4000 rebuild bills I see on here.[:D]

I attached a pic/scan of the Diagnostic scan and what it came up with to help anyone in the future. Sorry its so small photobucket resized it. I will save it in my gallery when they allow new image uploads.....as of 5 minutes ago it was not allowed.

 

·
Registered
1999 SLK230/ 2006 Passat/ 1995 Bronco (Prerunner)
Joined
·
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
G-Benz230 - 4/15/2006 11:31 AM

glad to hear it man [:)]

was it the dealer who gave you the 4000$ estimation?
NO, if you search you will see most everyone one here who has had transmission rebuilds from the dealer pay $4000 - $6000 depending if they needed a torque converter and other things. I found a rebuilt transmission online at a business for $2300 so thats what I would have done.
 

·
Registered
1999 SLK230/ 2006 Passat/ 1995 Bronco (Prerunner)
Joined
·
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Bazzle - 4/15/2006 12:37 AM

Good .

Is it driving better now?

Bazzle
Better than when it was in Limp Home Mode for sure.....I now have more than just 2nd gear[:D]

But it seems to idle a little rougher now??? Or maybe its because I haven't driven it in 3 weeks [8)]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
limp home mode/trannsmission after battery discharge cl600

Hi guys..:)I am the pround owner of a 2003 cl600 with 85k miles. I have been having trouble since I have had to jump start the car since the trunk broke taking away my access to the battery. So I have had to make jump point in the fuse box. At any rate the car goes into LHM when changing from first to second at around 25 mph. its almost like Im shifting from neautral to sencond gear at 20mph. usually I can turn the car off and turn it back on and it shifts just fine like nothing happened. I get the same error code P0715. I dont think anything is wrong with the transmission as its smooth as silk when I light up the tires. Also my rear tires are rubbing against the body as the sidewall are a little taller than I would like. I will get the trunk fixed shortly to allow access to change the battery.. My questions are. Would the weak battery cause the error code. Would the tires rubbing against the body cause the error code. What would cause the speed sensor to fail. How do I reset the transmission since cutting the car off and restarting isnt working. And lastly where can I get a speed sensor..
Thanks
Demeterial :thumbsup:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
limp home mode fixed..not to pass smog check..

Hello everyone I was able to fix the issue I was having with the transmission of my 2003 cl600 with 85k miles on it.

I called up the local mercedes tranny specialist he says he saw that type of thing all the time and I would have to replace the conductor plate and to check for tranny fluid on or around the area. There was no fluid and I had the fluid and filter replaced and is as good as new.

I took the car to another specialist to have the check engine lite turned off that was caused by the error code p0715. The code was removed but the cel did not go off. It turned out that I had a air pump error too. It just needed a relay 50.00 and all codes were cleared. :D

I have to get it smogged now which a completely different issue. When I went to smog test my car I received evap gas-not ready and secondary air-not ready. I have been told I have to drive it a long time to for the status to change to complete or ready. Like 400 miles long..oh well. Its great to be back on the road and my dash clear btw I found a conductor plate for 160.00 on line.

thanks again
Demeterial:thumbsup:
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top