Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The diff ratio on my SL500 is very long. It shifts from 1st to 2nd gear at about 80km/h. I was wondering if I could replace it with an SL 320 diff to get better acceleration. Will this work?
Would the SL 320 diff handle the torque of the bigger engine and how would I adjust the speedometer to display the correct speed?

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
The diff ratio on my SL500 is very long. It shifts from 1st to 2nd gear at about 80km/h. I was wondering if I could replace it with an SL 320 diff to get better acceleration. Will this work?
Would the SL 320 diff handle the torque of the bigger engine and how would I adjust the speedometer to display the correct speed?
Something not right with those figures. Surely your engine is screaming it's nuts off at 80km/h in first? Your box should have changed gear at a much lower speed. IMHO you should be looking at the autobox not the diff, but I'm not an expert in transmission matters. What happens if you select W (winter) on the gear selector and therefore move off in 2nd?

·
Registered
873 Posts
Try this:

1. Turn the ignition key to the on (not start) position.

2. Press the gas pedal to the floor and hold for five seconds.

3. Turn the key to the "off" position (don't remove the key), then release the gas pedal.

4. Wait at least two minutes for ECU to reset.

Doing this resets the ecu for the automatic transmission back to it’s factory settings.

·
Registered
674 Posts
I have thought about this myself but I've come the conclusion that it won't add any performance if your car is otherwise stock.