Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
'82 300D
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I would like to start off by saying that I have been watching this forum for the past month, and it has really been a deciding factor on my purchase.

I have recently purchased a '82 300D Turbo Diesel from a guy in Salem Oregon. I feel that I got the car for a great price, and I am feeling great about my decision to buy a MB.

Although I am new to the MB world, I have been an exclusive German car owner since I started driving (one BMW, and many VW's). I am pleased with the build quality of this car, even after 20+ years the doors shut the same as the showroom cars!! I purchased the car for $1800, with a spare car minus the body (motor, electrical, accessory motors, etc). The car has 300,000 miles, and a new engine as of 60,000 miles ago. The body is as straight as can be for 20+ years ( a few door dings, no scratches though), and the drivers seat shows the 300,000 miles.

The car came with a few problems that I need to address:

First is the tach, it's not working at all. I don't know if there is a problem with the gague cluster, or something under the hood. Do these cars have a crank sensor, or something along those lines? This is my first diesel that has a tach, so this part is all new to me. I'm assuming that when the engine was rebuilt, somebody forgot to connect the wires...

Second, The oil pressure gague is pegged at 3 bar, unless it's at idle, then it's right around 1.5 or so. Could this be a bad sending unit, or sensor, or is the gague the culprit? I have a spare gague assembly that I think I will switch out. The current one has a couple burnt our bulbs in it.

Third, I am flaborgasted with the fan controls (the buttons with the fan blades on them to the right of the HVAC controls). What and how do they work? I think my resistor is burnt out cause the fan only works on high. I noticed that the resistor is over $300!!! Is there a cheaper solution?