Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to everyone!
I am 17 and I am interested in buying a certain 1984 SEC500 for my first project that is listed as being modified by Lorinser.
Since this is my first time buying an SEC Mercedes or any car in general I was hoping some of the more experienced people could help me out a bit. The car is listed in for sale on a Finnish car site but is based in Estonia (where I luckily live!). I have been looking at different old Mercedes and have even looked at one it was a 450SLC was a bit too rough for a first project. Okay i am getting a bit besides the point. I will try to post some pictures of the car and would like if people could tell me what I should look at when i go to inspect the car and how much should i try to pay for it. It is listed for 7000€. The car is listed having 230 000km.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1990 SEC
4,089 Posts
Welcome!

That vehicle looks very interesting with its many Lorinser accessories.

Pricing varies a lot by country so I have no idea what the going rate for a 1984 SEC with Lorinser bits would be in Estonia. You're going to have to find some local Mercedes-Benz enthusiasts to guide you.

With any car this age and high miles there are lots of issues to cover.

The primary concern would be the condition of the body and chassis. Too much rust and it's not going to be a viable project.

The next issue to address are all the mechanical issues. Does it consume oil? Have the timing chain and guides been replaced? Is the cooling system working properly? Does the transmission shift properly? What about brakes, suspension components, steering box, etc.?

Find someone local to you with knowledge of these vehicles and give this Lorinser a good inspection.

·
Registered
1988 Mercedes 500 sec
388 Posts