Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

installing blinker mirrors help

1929 Views 12 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  Pewhipadus
Hi I purchased a 1997 S320 last week, so I am new to the W140 world. The first thing I had to do was get those Mercedes-signature blinker mirrors, so I purchased a set from Ebay.

Does anyone have any idea how to take the old mirror cover off? I see theres no screw or anything holding it in. I fold the mirrors in and keep pulling but to no avail. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
86 560SEL
1,334 Posts
I am not sure, but I think you need to start from inside of the car. Remove the cover pla...

I am not sure, but I think you need to start from inside of the car. Remove the cover plate and you'd see the stuff you need to remove, I think.

· Registered
BMW E36, MB W140
179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can remove the entire mirror assembly from the body (3 screws visible when mirror fo...

I can remove the entire mirror assembly from the body (3 screws visible when mirror folded), but I can't get the painted cover off the mirror assembly. (the blinker mirror cover goes over the originl mirror assembly).

the instructions that came with the blinker mirrors simply saids to pull it off. I'm afraid of pulling too hard...

thanks

· Registered
See signature
60 Posts
Where did you purchase them from? I asked a seller if they'd fit my '92 w140 and he said t...

Where did you purchase them from? I asked a seller if they'd fit my '92 w140 and he said they won't fit. Aren't all of the w140 mirrors the same? Give a good yank, and if you break off the cover, you still have that new set to put on :)

· Registered
BMW E36, MB W140
179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i purchased it from the Ebay vendor "bmwmb", you can search him on Ebay... he hasn'...

i purchased it from the Ebay vendor "bmwmb", you can search him on Ebay... he hasn't posted the mirrors for awhile, but was told he still has them... you can probably