Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1997 E420
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I got into my car this morning and the ignition key doesn't turn. I tried moving the steering while while simultaneously trying to turn the key. That didn't work.

I did some searches here on the forum and I guess there isn't a DIY type thing for replacing the ignition lock. I apologize if this has been posted before, I found a thread this morning where a guy posted his invoice for $1000 from the dealer but I cannot locate that thread anymore.

Should I just have my car towed to the next MB dealer or can I do this myself? I'm not a mechanic but I could replace the window regulator, the mid-console air vents, etc. So I can do some stuff but wonder if the key is out of my capabilities.

I also tried the replacement key without any luck :(

What would you do?

Thanks!

·
Registered
03 E320 4M Wagon & 97 E320
3,926 Posts
Here are the Mercedes WIS procedures for removing the ignition tumbler.

Then somehow you need to get the key to turn to position 1. Use some kind of vibration source like a jig saw or sander or whatever to touch the key while turning it.

Attachments

·
Registered
1997 Mercedes-Benz E420
139 Posts
strange not too long ago the same happened to my E420, i know this is going to sound strange, but if u jiggle the key around a bit can you get it to turn? (if never at all then dont even try this) I could but as soon as i turned the car off again, it would be stuck; If So, what did I do? I sprayed a SMALL amount of WD 40 onto my key blade and wiggled it around in the ignition and repeated a few times, then !! it turned to the on position! turned it off, turned it on, but i didnt start it, i waited till i could be sure everything was dry before i even attempted to start the car.
All i know is since then it hasnt got stuck.

·
Registered
2000 MB
803 Posts
nvest80,