Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
93' 400E
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay so this is the story... I have a 93' 400E and had been having an idle surging issue rarely but still happening once in a while. I have been doing much research on the fact in the forums but to no exact cureable answers. Anyway, I have been paying much attention to the issues I would have and compare to threads I have read. Depending on traffic, outside temp., driving style, etc. the problem would be different. So I traded cars with my brother for the day and he had tried to mimic my driving style and see if he could reenact the same issues. At this point and every time we traded and he drove the car, it would not have the problems that I have experienced.

So long story short, he thought that it was my shoes causeing the problem.... Now the shoes I wear are boots. Big steel toe boots. I have been wearing these pretty much everyday for about two years. So I laughed at his conclusion to the idle, surging, stalling issue. But I agreed with his conclusion and bought a new pair of shoes. Tenis shoes. Mentioning to him that if this wasn't the case, then he would pay me the cost of the shoes. A bet if you will...

Somehow it has solved the problem. I havn't had any issues for a week now. I don't get it, but changing the shoes fixed the problem. Of course my exhaust needs to be replaced still. I get a bit of a hesitation at a cruising speed, something feeling like a strong head wind when the car is cold. Though once it warms up all is fine.

Just thought I'd share the tale.
Cheers...

·
W124 Moderator
86 190E 2.3L 16V, 2 95 320TE's, 02 S500
12,938 Posts
Who Knew..... I'll sell all the tennis shoes I can get my hands on for $49.99 per pair. With all of us that have this or similar problems out there, I figure to have retirement income for years and years...

My paypal account is open .....................

Good Story Ogre ... thanks for sharing.

Shoeless Jayare

·