Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
111.010 121.942 202.033
1,850 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been trying to read up and educating myself via this forum. Great stuff.

I've been kicking around the idea of buying a Unimog for several years. The intended purpose was to have some fun offroad with an occasional trip to the city. Purely for use as a toy, but hardly practical for the 6-8 times a year I'd use it.

Now my needs have changed a bit - which might justify buying a mog.[;)]

I'm looking at a boat that weighs 10,000 pounds, add another 2-3000 for the trailer. This would allow me to store the boat myself - annually saving haul out and winter storage fees at a boat yard. Buying a truck just for this purpose doesn't make sense and would be very expensive. Plus there wouldn't be any fun in it! Is this my excuse to buy a Unimog?[:D]

I know mogs have the torque and gearing to tow just about anything - but what about at speed? What mog can tow this type of weight safely at highway speeds?

Originally I wanted a 404 M180 or 406 diesel short wheel base 2 door w/ a fixed roof (no canvas or cabrio). Is this still a possiblity? Can the "fast" axles and good brakes be found on the 404/406? Can it even handle this?

It also has to be over 25 years old b/c registration and insurance are dirt cheap in Illinois for antique vehicles. Another big advantage over a heavy duty pickup!

Dave
I must have hit my head on something hard.......

·
Registered
45 Posts
If you want a tow rig, the get a domestic 3/4 or 1 ton. Mogs can tow a great deal of weight but at a relatively low speed. No offense, but you're barking up the wrong tree. Both the typical 404 and 406 (stock) have engine outputs in the 80 to 90 hp range. No on the fast axles for both of these also. For a 406, you'll want a warning light to keep folks from hitting you from behind on the interstate.

A U1300 or bigger would be closer getting there. Keep researching and you'll see what I mean.

·