Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1990 W124 200E (daily driver), 1988 C126 560SEC (weekend fun)
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok i am planning to do it soon but lacking knowledge..
Since this job concerns brakes and i am being a safety engineer i would like to be sure about what i am doing before i start...

Did my homework and searched the forum but still need a bir more.
My car is a 1988 (built late 1987) 560SEC with ASR option this is the first year which i believe they offered ASR on 126 chasis.

Factory manual method suggests bleeding the brakes and after that bleeding the ASR pump while engine is running. Thats ok but my problem is, beside the 4 nipples on brake calipers and one ont he ASR pump (port marked "SP") i have two more bleeding nipples in the system: one on the ABS unit and one on a junction in between....

How will this system be bleed properly? what should be the sequence?
And idea / experience will be greatly appriciated (sorry for the long post)

·
Premium Member
2012 CL550 4MATIC Coupe
9,992 Posts
When I had ASR in my car, I purged it normally. I started with the wheel farthest from the res. and work your way around. RR irst, the LR, RF then LF. Then do it again.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thank you Mclare,

That part of the job is clear and i ve done it several times on cars with just ABS. what i need to know is the bleeding sequence in the engine bay. Namely what should be the order between the bleeding ports of the ASR pump, the junction and the ABS pump.. And there exist a label on the ABS pump saying "CAUTION FOLLOW SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS WHILE BLEEDING" or something like that...

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I think i need the instructions mentioned on the label..
126 Factorl manual only coveres the ASR pump with SP port... not he other 2

·
Premium Member
2012 CL550 4MATIC Coupe
9,992 Posts
Umut,