Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1990 Mercedes 300E
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I'm new here, not sure if I have the right place for this question, but any help would be appreciated.
I have a 1990 300e with sluggish acceleration, and a bit of a rough start, I've been reading that cleaning the MAF sensor might help. I'm not sure how to go about that, the diy sections don't show my particular engine (at least that I can find, I am new at this). My sensor seams to be mounted on top of the throttle body, and attached to all the fuel lines as well. Is there any way to clean this, let me rephrase, an easy way to clean this. Seams to me that I would have to remove a lot of stuff to get to the sensor.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks in advance.

WillEd
1990 MB 300E

·
Premium Member
About a dozen 1988, 1989, 1990, and 1991 sedans, wagons, 4Matics and 1 coupe
5,501 Posts
A 1990 300E (that's the sedan) has the M103 engine. That engine doesn't have a MAF sensor.

·
Registered
1990 Mercedes 300E
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A 1990 300E (that's the sedan) has the M103 engine. That engine doesn't have a MAF sensor.
oh...ok, i guess that answers that question. What about the air flow meter siting on top of the throttle body, can that be cleaned (lots of gunk lining the walls) or does it not need to be cleaned?
Any other thoughts on the sluggish acceleration and rough starts?
Thanks,
WillEd
1990 300E

·
Registered
2008 E350 4M, 2016 Audi Allroad, 2019 Audi Q5
5,483 Posts
I would completely remove it. It serves for multiple functions. First of all, the rubber boot that it sits on can have cracks out of sight which will cause rough idling and a number of other issues...Then you can clean everything out with carb cleaner, reposition the throttle plate, replace the fuel distributor seal that tends to leak with age, make sure the plate is not binding and moves freely and smoothly etc...

Definitely worth the hour to do it.

·