Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1974 450SL (always needs something!) new djet engine 1991; 1961 Besasie X-3 (being restored)
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My car came with the hood gaskets, etc. missing. I'm finally getting around to putting them on.(I'm not really a procrastinator, I just keep putting things off.) This may sound like a stupid question, but I can't find how the hood gaskets and whatever other material--except the hood blanket--are mounted.

·
Outstanding Contributor
450slc5.0cab 280sl5sp 280se4.5 500se+500slAMG +250seStkW108 350sl4spdX3 500secEuro
22,561 Posts
You appear to be in Wisconsin, so I assume hood is what I call a hood, or British call bonnet, whatever. I think you are looking for “hood pad” instructions. 3M “yellow” high temp spray on adhesive is what everyone uses.

·
Registered
1974 450SL (always needs something!) new djet engine 1991; 1961 Besasie X-3 (being restored)
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
You appear to be in Wisconsin, so I assume hood is what I call a hood, or British call bonnet, whatever. I think you are looking for “hood pad” instructions. 3M “yellow” high temp spray on adhesive is what everyone uses.
Are you still in Ohio? No, I'm not looking for hood pad instructions. Someone might have been scamming me, but I was told there is a seal (gasket) that goes between the hood and and the bodywork and a heat seal the--I think--goes somewhere near the cowl. I just looked it up. There is at least a rear hood seal for all 107s. I need to know how to install it or if it is necessary.

·
Premium Member
1983 380SL, 2000 S430, 1991 420SEL (retired) - RHD
5,514 Posts
There are 2 pads, one big one and one small near the windscreen. They just glue on.

·
Registered
'79 450SL, '04 CLK200 convertible; former A124, W210, A209.
1,860 Posts
I'm with Aussie on this one, it's just the pads - my 1979 doesn't have any seals or gaskets.

·
Registered
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #7