Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey, im new with ML
just got 02 ml 320
while going on highway few days after purchase the drive shaft bearing broke down completely, sudden vibration , the vehicle was towed to a shop.
so pretty much the shaft was turning inside the center support bearing frame

the mechanic replaced it with URO one, everything seamed fine, but i was noticing little rear end vibration at 120 km/h +
i was thinking it is the newly installed winter tires (bad balance) but
now the vibration got worse, really noticeable even at 100km/h
i checked underneath , my new bearing is owned .... the rubber part started to separate from metal frame which is screwed to the vehicles frame ....
contact the manufacturer for a replacement bearing, they sent me out a new one

but curious what the problem might be ....
thinking about bad quality bearing ?
or the drive shaft needs to be balanced .... ?
also thinking the mechanic screed up something with a way he put the shaft back together .... ?

dunno what to do ....

thinking about keeping my BMW .... FK first benz in my life and first car going on a tow truck to a shop.... sh***t

hope you guys will help !!!

thank you !

·
Purple Moderator
21,698 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
the mechanic who replaced it confirmed that he had marked everything and lined shaft together ....
do you know if it is possible to mess up the drive shaft balance because of driving for a bit with broken ( i can say without) drive shaft bearing

what if i replace the bearing and the vibration exists..... ?

:confused:any other ideas please

·
Purple Moderator
21,698 Posts
It is possible that the universal joints could have been damaged, but that should have been noticed during the repair.

·
Registered
3,094 Posts