Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1976 Euro 280SL; 1987 560SL
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good afternoon everyone,

I am having an issue with my 87 560sl. The idle in neutral is hovering around 1200 rpm in neutral and park.

So far, I have replaced the following parts:

Fuel hoses, fuel injector seals, basically all vacuum lines
Idle Control Valve
Plugs, wires, distributor cap

The car is in the shop currently and they tested a new idle speed control unit and the car still idled high. Have been pinning out for bad voltage readings and nothing.

What am I/we missing?

side note I have also noticed since the problem occurred that it feels like my brake are pulsing as if my anti-lock brakes are wanting to kick in just moving a low speed out of the parking garage.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

·
Registered
1986 560SL
26 Posts
Disclaimer: I'm a novice, new owner of '86 560SL

If the idle stays the same whether the "new" ICV is plugged in or unplugged, I'd be suspect. If the ICV is okay, I believe there is also an associated Idle Speed Control Unit behind the glovebox. While I don't know, it would make sense that if the relay is bad, you won't get proper function of the idle control system.

Also, has the o2 sensor been checked?

Has the vacuum system been smoked, or just replaced a bunch of hoses?

Lastly, with the brakes.. does the pulsing slow as the car slows (Warped rotor) or is the ABS activating at low speed (wheel speed sensor / ABS Sensor)?

Good luck. There's quite a few smart folks here!

·
Registered
1986 560SL 200,000 km
80 Posts
Sounds like a good smoke test is needed to find a well hidden vacuum leak or leaks.
Double check that all throttle linkages are moving free and clear.

·
Registered
65 Posts