Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There's only 1 day left on the bid!It has high miles at 72,000, but is it worth it?
here's the link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2428338942&category=6336

·
Registered
10 Posts
I'm not a Benz expert, but I love the S classes and own a 2000 S430. When it comes to bu...

I'm not a Benz expert, but I love the S classes and own a 2000 S430. When it comes to buying any model Mercedes Benz I have to try hard not to get too attached for fear of buying it right on the spot.

Try checking kelley Blue Book.COM (www.kbb.com). I checked the used car trade in value for a 2000 S500 in my area (N. Calif.) and it told me for a vehicle with 73,000 miles a dealer would give me about 37,550. Then compare it with the used car retail (how much it would be at a dealership to purchase), here it would be 48,475. But check it with your zip code because it is location specific.

So if you could get that car for 36,000 I would say that would be a good deal. Just make sure you figure in transport costs, get the vehicle's history and since it is a private sale, keep in mind possible expenses for a brake and tire inspection and possible wheel alignment. And check with a dealer or other certified technician on the cost of a 100,000 mile check up which you'll hit after a year(if you use it as a daily driver).

Good Luck,
Jay

·
Registered
s500- 300td
92 Posts
The car looks good, But i think it is alot of miles, personally I wouldn't go over 50k mil...

The car looks good, But i think it is alot of miles, personally I wouldn't go over 50k miles. You might want to consider an 01. It seems like the worked out all the kinks in the 00 model.

·
Registered
BMW 740iL
32 Posts
Re: The car looks good, But i think it is alot of miles, personally I wouldn't go over 50k mil