Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
2008 C200K (W204) & 1998 SL500 (R129) Imperial Red
3,373 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone.

On Saturday I bought Carsoft 7.4 MB with both 38 pin and ODB II cables, Diagnostic interface and some other cables. All brand new in a neat carry case.

I paid about $75 for it from Gumtree :)

Installed it without any issues on an old Compaq Armada E500 P3 laptop. Interface seems to be working.

Unfortunately I'm a newbie when it comes to car diagnostics, and have basic mechanical knowledge. So I have quite afew questions and any help would be much appreciated. I am very eager to learn more about running diagnostics / service adjustments to my S320.

Firstly, what CRUCIAL tips / warnings could some of the more experienced guys inform me about?

I see its possible to erase ESG momory, ME memory, if I do such things would it damage my vehicle computers / modules? I believe theyare transmisson and engine modules respectively?

Also I keep getting the ABS light on after driving a kilometer or two, so I would like to cancle that light if possible. I would like to learn how to use software properly and to be able to run diagnosis on other benz's ( 1988 - 2003 models)

On the W140, where is ODB II port located? I heard its under the dash somewhere but where? Do I have to strip anything to get to it? I've been reading up on Carsoft 7.4 MB and from what I understood it can also read live ME data.

My reverse gear does not work at all, would it be able to tell me what's wrong?

Does anyone have a user manual? One that explains in. How and what each function of the software does. (not installation / crack guide)

another point was that detailed info could not be displayed on the screen about errors, it has to be printed out. Could anybody clarify this?