Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
77 240D
993 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm new to diesels and checking out this 300cd that lives in the desert. the seller wrote this: "The engine usually starts first time". can you more experienced folks help me divine what kind of problem is this likely to be?

·
Registered
'01-E320 & 02-ST2
31,633 Posts
Oh, thank you, I needed a good laugh.

What it could be is a lot of things, But the likely translation is, "I've spent more money trying to change 'usually' to 'always' than this car is worth and the frustration factor caused my wife to leave and none of my so-called 'friends' will come over or even call any longer. Please save me from myself."

Seriously, it could be something rather simple, like a leaky injector, or something complex and very expensive. It's been oft-repeated (and for good reason) that the worst Mercedes is a cheap Mercedes.

That said, if the car is otherwise perfect, ask him to let you take it for a PPI. While you're at the indy shop, repeat your question so as he's doing the PPI he can pay special attention to that.

But if you pull into the shop and the guy sees it and comes running out shaking his head saying, "I said I can't fix it, please go away!!" then you also have an answer. :D

Good luck.

·
Registered
1982 300D Turbodiesel 212K or so, it doesn't work anymore :-)
216 Posts
It sounds like he's saying it starts with one cycle of the glow plugs, normally. There very well may not be an issue; there may be a huge issue.

You'll never know until you get an inspection, or at least go look at, crank, and drive the car yourself.

·
Registered
2013 MINI Copper S Clubman, '84 300CD-weekend car
10,152 Posts
Agreed, could be numerous items, a visual inspection is in order.

·
Registered
1985 300CD Turbo coupe, 2006 E320 CDI sedan
573 Posts
Yeah, my interpretation would be "usually starts after only one application of the glow plugs". So does mine.

//greg//

·
Registered