Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2004 CLK 500
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all! I'm a noob to the forum and I've got a question for you.

I recently purchased a 2004 CLK 500 with 42,000 miles on the clock. The car is in great shape, I had my trusted Merc mechanic inspect it and he told me it was a great car...

In the past few days, the car has a tendency to stall at red lights. No warning, no sputtering, just dies--all the dash lights come on. Sometimes it will start again, sometimes I have to remove the key and re-insert it to get it to start. :confused::confused:

Anyone have any ideas??? I called the dealer I bought it from and am taking it in to his shop for a diagnostic on Monday. Is it possible that the key is going bad? I had a problem like this with my BMW--one key had a faulty microchip and would cause the car to stall sometimes--I switched keys and never had the issue again...

If I do need another key, what kind of cost am I looking at? I have an old key from my wife's 2002 C230K, can that be programmed to the CLK?

Post up your ideas, thanks guys!

·
Registered
2004 CLK 500
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well, I looked at the forum page again, and noticed that just 3 threads down from mine is a similar thread...guess this is a common problem!!! I started searching and have seen the posts regarding KPS and CPS. I will mention this to the mechanic tomorrow--until then, any other suggestions?

·
Registered
'04 CLK 320
6 Posts
yup that would be me ! it is very common on some other threads i read. let me know what happens and if it is either the cps or kps. cause i have the exact same issue. wondering how much that will run me.....

·
Registered
2004 CLK 500
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
As was thought, it is the Crankshaft Position Sensor (KPS). Part is ordered and will be installed tomorrow. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
'04 CLK 320
6 Posts