Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
I think a new hood would be ideal, but that's an expensive (and relatively rare) fix. There's a nice SEC hood that just landed in a local yard here, but getting it to Dallas would be prohibitively expensive (and it probably wouldn't arrive in pristine condition).

I've seen many grilles that have been repaired by various methods. I'd take it in to a good body shop and get their opinion.

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
It was 199, but repainted. Looks OK, but little bits of overspray and some marginally sloppy masking jobs. What might you need from this car?? PM me if I can help.

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
No body shop for me. This is strictly a DIY kinda car. But if it can be welded, I'll take it to one of the few welding shops that are near where I store my cars.
I think welding can be done, but I am no expert. Good luck with getting her fixed up!

·
Registered
13,337 Posts
tigging is an art, esp on a hood where excess heat can really tweak things...

Worst case you can try it..I've got a cracked hood here, but I've also got two Good hoods so it will likely be sitting for a While yet..;-)

jono

·
Registered
38 Posts
It can be TIG welded

I had mine TIG repaired and it worked perfectly, with a filler suitable for 6061 ie common aluminum.

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
Just get a good used one from the yards. You'll be a lot happier with the end result, and it will only cost you maybe $100-200. Painting will be your only other expense, but I think patching an aluminum hood will never be right.

·
Premium Member
4,178 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
The hood was broken on my 560SEC and I sold my last two spares. The other week it got worse when I slammed the hood down so I thought I would hit up my local welding shop to see if they could help. Today I stopped by a guy down the road from me and he said that if I clean it up, he can tig it for $40.