Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 365 Posts

·
Immoderately Caffeinated/ Vintage Moderator
16,392 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Predator..

The fallout: How the Harvey Weinstein scandal exposed sexual harassment as Hollywood's dirty secret

Dana Brunetti has produced a number of big films over the years: “Captain Phillips,” “The Social Network,” “Fifty Shades of Grey.” But he’s never liked to tell people that he’s a movie producer.
He knows the image it can instantly conjure in their heads.

“I hate telling people I’m a producer because of the stereotype,” Brunetti said. “Because of the ick factor of hitting on girls and ‘I can get you a role in a movie.’ ”
And that was before the Harvey Weinstein scandal broke.

Now, with allegations of decades of sexual harassment and assault against the once-powerful film mogul erupting into public view on a near-hourly basis, Hollywood is finally assessing the level of truth behind the stereotype. Far from a dated anomaly, many in the industry now say, Weinstein is just one example of a wider and still current problem that the industry has ignored – or deliberately swept under the rug – for far too long.

“There’s a lot of abuse in this town,” said producer and director Judd Apatow. “Young actresses are mistreated in all sorts of ways by powerful men who can dangle jobs or access to exciting parts of show business. I think a lot of people are mistreated and they don’t realize how badly they’re being mistreated.”
Harvey Weinstein accused of raping 3 women in New Yorker exposé

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/harvey-weinstein-accused-of-raping-women-new-yorker/

And then FOX News steps up with the usual garbage.

Harvey Weinstein scandal - Bravery (and introspection) is what Hollywood needs now