Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Not surprised. Looks like the E55's vary quite a bit from car to car. Some are as fast as 4.8, others 5.8. A newer Cobra should smoke the E55 if driven exceptionally well. I just didnt like the E's handling and trac/invasion system.

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Re: Re: Got nailed by a Ford Mustang Cobra SVT

I just had to respond to this post. Iam far from an expert on anything, but I have owned 3 mustangs, and Iam an avid drag racer, as well I will be taking delivery of a 2000 E55 on Friday of this week. I have extensive experience with drag racing late model Mustangs, and I can tell you that you should have walked all over the SVT Cobra no matter what year it was made, if and only if it was unmodified. Even with most of the bolt-on aftermarket accessories, he should have been an easy win. But if he was packing a supercharger, an SVT cobra can blow the doors off of any 'stock' car made, Vipers included. So dont feel bad. I will have some more concrete quarter mile data and figures to give the board once I take delivery of the E55 and get some good track time in.

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

There was no problem with traction. 0-100 mph and he was going away. Not sure if the SVT was modified. I have not grown comfortable with the E55's potential. Is the car still too tight? Was the adaptive transmission not ready for such driving? I am starting to wonder if I still had my '91 M5, would the outcome have been different.

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Re: Re: Re: Got nailed by a Ford Mustang Cobra SVT