Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1401 - 1420 of 1434 Posts

·
Registered
2005 E320(RIP) 2004 SL500
Joined
·
157 Posts
Happened to me as well. I just set the date on the computer back 5 years and have had no issues since
 

·
Registered
2006 SL55, 2007 ML 320
Joined
·
3 Posts
Hi guys,
I have a star c4. I've had it for about 6 months. It worked great at first. Then I was doing brakes and it was plugged into car for about an hour. When I tried to use it I got that error. I tried it the next day and it worked great. I thought it overheated. A month later I tried to use it and keep getting that error. The guy from China that I bought it from logged on the computer and said the problem was the missing das. I have a hard time believing it comes and goes. I never used that icon. I use xentry. 2006 sl55. Do you think he is correct or is the mux bad?
Thank you for any insight.
 

Attachments

·
Outstanding Contributor , SDS Guru
1998 MB E300TD, 1997 MB E36 AMG, 2001 MB E55 AMG. 2011 BMW 335d
Joined
·
6,050 Posts
No that's a bad mux. It shouldn't time out when plugged in for a long time.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Fastragtop

·
Registered
2005 CLK320
Joined
·
680 Posts
Hi guys,
I have a star c4. I've had it for about 6 months. It worked great at first. Then I was doing brakes and it was plugged into car for about an hour. When I tried to use it I got that error. I tried it the next day and it worked great. I thought it overheated. A month later I tried to use it and keep getting that error. The guy from China that I bought it from logged on the computer and said the problem was the missing das. I have a hard time believing it comes and goes. I never used that icon. I use xentry. 2006 sl55. Do you think he is correct or is the mux bad?
Thank you for any insight.
This has nothing to do with the missing DAS icon, if you set up a team viewer I can verify if it is the mux or sofware and add the DAS icon.
The seller will always try to blame it on something else than the hardware to avoid warranty claims.

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
2006 SL55, 2007 ML 320
Joined
·
3 Posts
This has nothing to do with the missing DAS icon, if you set up a team viewer I can verify if it is the mux or sofware and add the DAS icon.
The seller will always try to blame it on something else than the hardware to avoid warranty claims.

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
That would be awesome!! That's what I was thinking. I have team viewer on the computer. Would you be available this weekend? I work 2nd shift so evenings don't work.
 

·
Registered
2009 ML320, 2004 ML500, 2013 C350 AMG
Joined
·
123 Posts
I'm trying to sort through the ~71 pages in this thread to get a recommendation on which Star diag system to buy for myself.
Looking on Aliexpress, I find heaps of them.

Aliexpress results for MB Star C4

Could someone recommend what they believe is the best value for the money?
 

·
Registered
1999 S500; W140.051; 2003 E320; W211.065; 1973 220; W115.010
Joined
·
873 Posts
I bought my 2015 ver C4 w. wired china multiplexer 5 yrs ago from Aliexpress vendor 'OEM Scan Tool.

Most all of the Aliexpress listings for C4 have gone to SD Connect wireless multiplexer which adds some cost.

Another factor to consider are your inclinations toward 'geekdom'. My C4 setup was a HDD set up for a Delll D630. I purchased the cables, the multiplexer & the HDD. I had to add D630 laptop, install the HDD, get it booted, then get some support form Aliexpress vendor via Team Viewer to get all the keygen stuff done and then I was ready to go. Pretty standard stuff for this. That older C4 setup was running on a pretty heavily modified WinXP OS that involved 4 partitions on the HDD, etc. I later cloned the HDD over to an SSD (highly recommended to get an SSD). With that old weird XP multi-partition setup that gets a bit geeky to deal with.

The later system on Win7 doesn't use that weirdness and is cleaner/easier and less geeky. This probably increased the cost a little also.

I put about $530 total into my system.

There are 3 links below that range in price depending on how complete you want to get the system, but that getting started cost is moving up to $750~$850.

One other suggestion aside fro the SSD is to get 4GB RAM in the laptop. The cost of the RAM is negligible, but you'd need to ask to make sure you get it.




Hope this helps.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
I just put together a similar system, and went for a C3 instead of a C4. I am torn on if this was the right decision or not. I am still trying to get a newer but not too new version of the software running.
 

·
Outstanding Contributor
2003 SL500, 2003 SL55, 1998 SL500, (2) 1991 300SLs
Joined
·
4,564 Posts
I just put together a similar system, and went for a C3 instead of a C4. I am torn on if this was the right decision or not.
If you are only working with c. 2014 and older cars, then you don't need a C4. Since a C4 is double the cost of a C3, I personally think you probably made a good choice.
 

·
Premium Member
2008 S63 (aka Dominique Deveraux) <space for a W140, R129>
Joined
·
1,075 Posts
Would you trust Alibaba and this Asian product speaking of priority
I am seriously considering it. Having left the luxury of my own SDS in the shop a few months ago I feel disconnected from my car. I have been following this thread since inception and overall it looks like the real deal. I would not be surprised to learn if the SDS used in shops today are made in China or Japan (never bothered to look). Country of origin on MANY MB parts (especially the newer ones) ranges all over the world.
 

·
Registered
1999 SL600 | 2001 SL500 (sold)
Joined
·
1,133 Posts
Anyone have any idea why a few models on my das are missing? I’m missing 124 and 140 and also not visible are older versions of 202, 129 and 210. Do I need to manually open them in HHT-Win?

Btw I used bobterry’s free download of star c3. Already messaged him but haven’t heard back..
 

·
Registered
2005 CLK320
Joined
·
680 Posts
Anyone have any idea why a few models on my das are missing? I’m missing 124 and 140 and also not visible are older versions of 202, 129 and 210. Do I need to manually open them in HHT-Win?

Btw I used bobterry’s free download of star c3. Already messaged him but haven’t heard back..
You should start from das or better xentry using the vin no for selection.
The c3 has a relay board and considering the age of these they tend to go bad an cause exactly this issue.
Could also be the cable, has this ever worked before?
You want to consider switching to a c4.


Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
1999 SL600 | 2001 SL500 (sold)
Joined
·
1,133 Posts
You should start from das or better xentry using the vin no for selection.
The c3 has a relay board and considering the age of these they tend to go bad an cause exactly this issue.
Could also be the cable, has this ever worked before?
You want to consider switching to a c4.


Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
Actually I’ve just recently installed. I immediately took notice of missing chassises. I’m going to buy the cables and multiplexer soon
 

·
Registered
2005 CLK320
Joined
·
680 Posts
Actually I’ve just recently installed. I immediately took notice of missing chassises. I’m going to buy the cables and multiplexer soon
In that case it's a sofware issue they should all be there what version is this?

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
 
1401 - 1420 of 1434 Posts
Top