Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

521 - 540 of 1105 Posts

·
Outstanding Contributor , SDS Guru
Joined
·
3,214 Posts
I've spent most of the evening reading this great thread on Star.

I have a C4 wireless with Dell D630.

It all works fine but I have a couple of questions.

I see many of you are mentioning developer mode, my version (from China) does not have this function enabled, is it possible to enable it?

I intend in the future upgrading a W164 with LED rear lights, what part of Star will enable me to change the coding on the SAM module? Most Chinese companies are charging £90 as a one time charge to log in and code for you. Is this the only way? What does offline coding mean and it looks like only the C3 may do this?

Thank you in advance, there are some very knowledgable people on here!

Great thread and forum, my favourite!
Development would be here. Most sellers include that to pump up sales. Unless your seller is a crappy one, it should include it. It's located in any module menu at the bottom of page.

When you want to code the car, you will be doing it in development menu....and that means you need to have a working grasp of german language. That's because everything in development mode is in german.

Coding is done through Development data -> Control unit adaption -> Control unit adaption (variant coding) -> Implizite Kodierung -> German fun!

You will have to go to whatever module tht controls what you want to do...like for instance, rear tail lights are controled by rear SAM module. So that's where you'll be going to code. Or CGW, or whatever.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
The rear sam has the option for led I would check in initial start which asks you questions on what's fitted to the car and codes it in for you
If the option for led is not there you need to upgrade the rear sams software's which is done by "offline coding" Or a new rear sam

You don't need developers mode for either of these

but if you do want it It's just a matter of finding a keygen for Dev mode or what I did was look on the Web for an acronis image of star xentry with all the bells & whistles
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
104 Posts
Thanks for the replies.

Tonight I tried to change the display so that the instrument cluster shows ambient temperature rather than speed. W164. I went into the menu and managed to change it for all three memory functions including easy access where it moves the seat and steering column.
I pressed F3 after changing each option and also then clicked F5 to recode the control module.
It said code accepted.
I went to the vehicle and nothing has changed, speed still displayed.
Seat doesn't move or steering column for easy access.
Logged back into xentry and these settings are still saved.
It appears my software is saying the right things but it's not changing the module settings.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
104 Posts
Just discovered in the UK you can't change it from km/h as the speedo only displays mph.

So it can't be changed, must be American you tube clips of the temperature displayed.

Still doesn't explain the seat not moving.
 

·
Outstanding Contributor , SDS Guru
Joined
·
3,214 Posts
Try disconnecting battery, waiting a few minutes and connecting it.

When it recodes the cluster, it is supposed to reset it. But if it does not, then you have to manually reset it via disconnection.

Before you do, see if the radio has a code (in older cars they lock after a battery disconnection...not sure about newer cars), learn how to program the one touch on sunroof and windows...its a very simple procedure, you can google it or look it up here.

And yes, you can recode it to km/h. You ahve to change the country code from whatever it is to a country that uses metric system.

Doesn't UK use imperial miles?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Star Diagnostic choices?

Greetings experts

I'm hoping some of the experts here with experience with Star Diagnostic Systems can help with making the right system choice (hardware/software) that will play nicely with my 1998 SL500.

I have read this thread completely and spent many hours trying to determine which system to purchase but have found if difficult to weed out which system and vendor would be a good choice.

Hardware: I have been researching the wireless SD connect Compact C4 system but found the variances with these clones very confusing. For example some vendors say "don't put batteries in it, "full chip" "no name chips" "updatable/not updatable", "new relays/NEC relays" the variables go on and on.

Software: I've seen comparisons that WinXP versions with standard HDD w/4GB systems that take awhile to boot vs WIN7 systems with SSDs but it appears most WIN7 systems claim no support for HHTWIN.

Really trying to make the right hardware and software choice because returning a unit to china is likely cost prohibitive. :(

Hoping for a little direction and guidance here please.

Thanks

Carl
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
181 Posts
The system OP (Arctic-Dweller) of this topic recommends is what I bought & am very happy with. It is faster than wireless IMHO & Chinese vendor supports product remotely via internet in a program called 'team-viewer'. Dell 6430 w/ 4GB RAM & C4 mux connect via serial port runs on WinXP SP3 & I've found it's possible to put to sleep in stand-by mode to reduce boot-up time with all proper Dell drivers installed. I personally believe it's comm w/ vehicle is faster than Wi-Fi as I have completed a 'Quick Test' in DAS with my system in just about 1 minute & have seen latest Wi-Fi version at my Indie's shop run same but take about 3 minutes to complete. All cables & mux are extremely well constructed & rugged. My vehicle works with DAS but I believe a MY 98 would require HTT-Win which I have no experience with but know is included & supported by this system. The cables necessary for connecting to older vehicles is included with system as well & is similarly well constructed & rugged. JMHO :nerd
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
669 Posts
Attention C4 Users:

Is there a way to export data to text file from DAS?

I am a new user and I could not find a way to do this in UI of DAS.

I suppose [Alt+PrintScreen] & paste into MS Word is an option, but it seems weird that there wouldn't be a way to save data from scan.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
948 Posts
Discussion Starter #533
Attention C4 Users:

Is there a way to export data to text file from DAS?

I am a new user and I could not find a way to do this in UI of DAS.

I suppose [Alt+PrintScreen] & paste into MS Word is an option, but it seems weird that there wouldn't be a way to save data from scan.

Hi Daidnik:

I know of only being able to save the screen printout to a file.

When you are in either DAS or XENTRY, click on the F11 "PRINT" icon located on the bottom right hand side of the screen.

Once in the print mode you can save it to OneNote in a file.

I then download the OneNote file to a memory stick, and transfer the file to my main computer & printer.

Maybe someone else has figured a better way?

Take Care, and May God Bless, Arctic
 

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
1,129 Posts
Attention C4 Users:

Is there a way to export data to text file from DAS?

I am a new user and I could not find a way to do this in UI of DAS.

I suppose [Alt+PrintScreen] & paste into MS Word is an option, but it seems weird that there wouldn't be a way to save data from scan.
Find and install a free PDF writer ( WWW.Bullzip.com for instance )

After doing a Quick Test ( for example ) as mentioned hit F11

Select either Initial Quick Test Log or Final Quick Test Log
do NOT select Print to file.... The reason being the free PDF writer actually emulates a default printer.
Hit PRINT
Bullzip ( because that's what I have ) will pop up with selectable option Set ( leave at DEFAULT )
Format ...select PDF
File Name... browse to C:\documents and settings\STAR\My Documents\Quick_test_001.pdf and select that as the storage location and put whatever filename you wish in.
hit SAVE

and voila.. a PDF file that can be copied to a USB stick, to another PC on your LAN, e-mailed or printed.


it should be a complete start to finish report of everything checked and the results from a Quick Test. it COULD end up being 35 pages if everything is broken. Will normally run about 3-5 pages on a "normal" car
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
669 Posts
Artic Dweller & Ex-Fed,

I assume that both of these options accessed via Print venue are bitmap/raster type of data, NOT text & formatting.

Is this correct?

It makes one wonder "What were those S/W engineers thinking?"

There is a complex tree in the systems & subsystems to navigate and anything you save is like scraps of paper out of a cash register?

I asked my mechanic friend about this and he says he takes a picture with this phone if he needs to. He worked at the dealer for years before his own shop too. I thought: "funky". So much for technology and keeping records.
 

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
1,129 Posts
The PDF file is a cross platform text/graphics document.

I have one I made in SIM Das, let me see if I can attach it as an example.

DAS.PDF is a cover sheet for the Quick Test. does not get into specif codes or any breakdown on control units. Just a lit of components and Pass /Fail status.
DAS2.PDF is the 35 page monster where not only is the Quick Test cover sheet printed, but every sub unit with a fault code gets broken down.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
107 Posts
I know I'm late to the group, but can someone PM me a link or links for install images/keygen for DAS/Xentry/WIS? I have a number of laptops here at home I'd like to try and get it running on and am no stranger to all things IT related.

Thanks in advance!

Southo
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
New guy with a new-to-me 2001 SL600. Can someone please fill me in on what I need? I have looked through alibabas site and some seem really complete with laptop and stuff. I would really appreciate the heals - I'm not super tech saavy but need a way to pull codes and adjust ride height.

Much appreciated!
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
8,694 Posts
New guy with a new-to-me 2001 SL600. Can someone please fill me in on what I need? I have looked through alibabas site and some seem really complete with laptop and stuff. I would really appreciate the heals - I'm not super tech saavy but need a way to pull codes and adjust ride height.

Much appreciated!
If you're not very tech minded go for a deal which includes a laptop, then it's already set up to go.
AliExpress sellers are much of a muchness but it's very important go for one that has been trading for some years and has a good feedback record.
The first seller I bought my Star SDS from had gone out of business after one year! The HDD went AWOL and I had to buy another HDD that was compatible with the LeNovo Thinkpad laptop. It was an expensive lesson in time and money :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
If you're not very tech minded go for a deal which includes a laptop, then it's already set up to go.
AliExpress sellers are much of a muchness but it's very important go for one that has been trading for some years and has a good feedback record.
The first seller I bought my Star SDS from had gone out of business after one year! The HDD went AWOL and I had to buy another HDD that was compatible with the LeNovo Thinkpad laptop. It was an expensive lesson in time and money :(
Ok, so how does this look?

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/2016-Mb-star-c4-sd-connect-4-wifi-c4-with-touch-screen-laptop-x200t-2g-ram/32613499667.html?spm=2114.30010308.3.17.pY4Fwq&ws_ab_test=searchweb201556_8,searchweb201602_3_10017_301_407_406,searchweb201603_1&btsid=54ad679d-5d9d-4bfc-85bf-fba6117db60c
 
521 - 540 of 1105 Posts
About this Discussion
1.1K Replies
164 Participants
ceta4zng
Mercedes-Benz Forum
BenzWorld.org forum is one of the largest Mercedes-Benz owner websites offering the most comprehensive collection of Mercedes-Benz information anywhere in the world. The site includes MB Forums, News, Galleries, Publications, Classifieds, Events and much more!
Full Forum Listing
Top