Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2001 ML320
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know it says to use 90 in the book for gas, I have had other cars where it said that and didn't matter. Will it make a big difference using 87?

·
Registered
ML550, W212 E350 4 matic, 1966 Corvette C2 convt.
2,675 Posts
Use what it says with all vehicles. You are most likely not an engineer, have not tested the engines. You are most likely just cheap.

·
Registered
2008 GL 320 CDI, 1999 ML 430, 2001 Porsche C4
79 Posts
My SA here in West Virginia told me that they spoke with Mercedes regarding what type of octane rating is acceptable. 89 octane is acceptable. I am still worried about what it will do to the engine so I usually mix it, 1/2 a tank of 89 and 1/2 a tank of 93. I do not know if it does anything but I have been doing this for the past 3 months when the gas prices have gone up. i have not noticed any change in performance. I have not heard any knocking sound or hesitation associated if you put 87 octane.

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
19,236 Posts
Your ML has a high compression engine that requires 91-octane fuel. Using fuel with a lower octane rating can cause problems ranging from a barely noticeable reduction in power to increased engine noise to permanent engine damage with long-term use. Octane ratings are linear, so you could mix 93 and 89 to get an overall 91 rating. I fill my nearly empty tank with 93-octane at Costco, then at half a tank, I fill with 89-octane from a reputable brand (Chevron, Exxon, Shell) to get the additives.

- RODNEY

·
Registered
Ml 500SE
269 Posts
Penny wise and pound foolish!