Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2001 G500
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everybody!

First off, I need to comment on how great this forum is! I have learned so much about the G-Class through all of your interesting stories and conversations.

I am in my second year at the United States Air Force Academy and this summer we are finally allowed to have cars! Ever since reading an article comparing the G-Class and Range Rover in 6th grade, I've been hooked! I return home on Christmas leave this next week and recently saw this '02 500 for sale back in SA (I think they're asking around $27K):

http://hovey-motorcars.ebizautos.com/webdetail.aspx?iid=5996814

I've heard some scary stories about the '02-'03 models.... Would there be any true way to check if it's a lemon or not? I'm planning on actually viewing it this Wednesday.

Also, the Europa G-Classes seem pretty good... Is it possible to find one (with airbags) around $25K or less?

Finally, after graduation I plan to serve a number of years in the Air Force... For you military/frequent relocation people out there: would this be a practical car? How easy is the maintenance? I grew up working on 1930s Ford V8s and the DIYs on the forum do not seem impossible...

Thanks!!!

Christopher

·
Registered
03 G55
178 Posts
02-03 G's should have all of the issues worked out by now. What I'd check would be service records and number of owners. You don't want a truck thats swapped hands a dozen times, as there's going to be something driving owners from it. Check service records for repeat visits for the same issue (I wouldn't look @ minor mechanical issues, like window regulators, as they're prone to failure by design).

For a DIYer, the Europa G's are a more sensible choice, as they dont have nearly all the electronics that the 02+'s have, but, they are much harder to acquire by reason of an extremely limited supply.