Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2001 ML320 & 2003 SL500
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to change the fuel pump and the Fuel Filter, but am not sure how to update the filter. My truck needs to update the hoses, but do I need to buy one or three hoses.
Some people report that you only need to buy one hose for the update. While others say you have to buy all three. Which one is it ? and if I only need to buy one - which one is it.

Here are the part numbers I got:
(1) 1634702864 hose
(2) 1634702964 hose
(3) 1634703764 hose

(4) 0019978390 hose clamps

I am spending a lot to fix all the things wrong with this truck and if I can save a few buck..That would be great..
 

·
Registered
2001 ML320 & 2003 SL500
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the good news....So I need to get fuel filter part # 1634770701

Changing the fuel pump, because my gas gauge is not working. I brought it into the dealer and was told I need to change the pump in order to get the gas gauge to work again. After reading and searching on my own - I did try pulling the #5 Fuse with no luck.
 

·
Registered
2001 ML320 & 2003 SL500
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
After reading this post is why I thought I needed to update my hoses:
Last six of my vin are 257933

Here is a copy and past..

Fuel filter, fuel lines and fuel pump were upgraded as of MY2002.

The old fuel filters are no longer available from MB dealer.

If your vehicle chassis number (last 6 digits of VIN) falls in to this group:

163.154 up to 266446
163.172 up to 265965
163.174 up to 266484

and need to replace the fuel filter (recommended maintenance by MB every 60k miles), a one-time retrofit procedure is necessary by installing supplemental fuel lines for the new fuel filter. For a proper upgrade, all the fuel lines together with the new filter should be replaced however it does not require a new pump.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Upgraded Fuel Lines.pdf (144.2 KB, 746 views)
 

·
Registered
2002 Mercedes ML320, 132k
Joined
·
266 Posts
You may wish to check out Bosch fuel pumps, available lots of places but I bought mine on Amazon. My very early 2002 ML320 needed a #67971, but my VIN # is after the break. The pump's shipping now; I don't have any installation or lifetime data yet. But I had the fuel sender problem also--those sure as heck weren't upgraded.
 

·
Registered
1999 ML320
Joined
·
2,800 Posts
Don't think changing the filter and lines will fix your gauge problem. The gauge arm is fixed to the fuel pump. It is one unit.
Try fuel additives like techron.. It cleans deposits off the fuel sender unit. It has helped mine get back on track but i have only been using Texico fuel which i understand has Tecron as an additive in the fuel. It not been 100% as yet but much better. I can't find full on tecron additive anywhere in the uk.
 

·
Registered
2001 ML320 & 2003 SL500
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I tried tecron and pulling the fuse. I already ordered the fuel pump. Found a Bosch replacement at a good price.

According to 43sqd I do not need to update my fuel filter lines in order to replace my fuel filter. So, I just ordered a new pump and filter for a 2001 ML320. Once I get the parts I will attempt the job.
 

·
Purple Moderator
99 ML430, 00 ML320, 05 E500 4matic Wagon
Joined
·
22,117 Posts
More often than not one of the little metal tabs breaks off the sweeper where the float
pivot point meets the pump. I am betting that is what is broken. Compare the old to the
new and you see a tiny tab missing.
 

·
Premium Member
02 ML320 06 ML500
Joined
·
17,098 Posts
I tried tecron and pulling the fuse. I already ordered the fuel pump. Found a Bosch replacement at a good price.

According to 43sqd I do not need to update my fuel filter lines in order to replace my fuel filter. So, I just ordered a new pump and filter for a 2001 ML320. Once I get the parts I will attempt the job.
According to your vin #you might need the line upgrade after all. I apologize if I provided the wrong info.

If you are not the original owner, the upgrade might have been already performed (see attached illustration). Please compare the filter size when you receive the new one. If your existing one is smaller than the new one, then you will need the upgrade.
 

Attachments

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top