Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2000 CLK 320
338 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm ordering this and the Trans mount tomorrow off of Autohausaz.com. I am a little confused on how to replace this. I know to put the rear up on jack stands. and block the front tires up. Then put the car in N so the driveshaft can still spin. Does this mean that when I am undo-ing the bolts that I can spin the driveshaft and get the bolts that are impossible to get (top poisiton ones) and reinstall in same order? And will any fluid or anything come out? When I take the driveshakt bolts off, will the driveshaft want to fall down? I'm new to this Flex Disc thing, But, I am turning 100,000 miles in two days :crybaby2: and would like to start taking caution procedures. Any help is greatful . Thanks

·
Premium Member
2004 CLK 240 Coupe
11,367 Posts
mercedes00320 - did you inspect and find it cracked?

The WIS shows your CLK has a prop shaft split into front and rear halves, both of which are fitted with flex disks at their ends. The shaft is supported in the middle by an 'intermediate bearing', and the front end also has a universal joint.

The WIS assumes that anyone changing the flex disks will drop the propshaft completely. But I see no reason why you cannot work on the front end alone by removing the nuts on the flange, and allowing the shaft to drop clear.

In neutral the shaft should rotate, provided the rear wheels are lifted clear of the ground, and the parking brake is released.

Torque for self-locking nuts on transmission/front shaft. (2 versions), M10 = 40Nm. M12 = 60Nm. If you do not replace the bolts, use a dab of blue locktite on the threads. Flex disks are shown for 3 or 4 arm flanges, according to model.

·
2006 S500, 2003 ML350, 1996 C280 (Previously 2002 CLK320, 1995 C220, 1980 300SD TurboDiesel)
2,670 Posts