Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to buy a W126, preferably from 1986-91 and am new to Mercedes. I've alway loved the design and the presence this type of Mercedes has. The only problem is that I am not super well briefed on what to look for when shopping around for one and I'm no mechanic. Low mileage will cost $$ and I'm not looking to spend $20k on a 30+ year old car so I know they will be higher mileage at this point. There aren't many for sale where l live (LA) but from what I can tell there's a few 420SEL's and 380SEL's. Are these desirable models or is the 560SEL the one to aim for? What about the 350SD/SDL? Also, this would be a daily driver. Any thoughts, helpful hints, anything would be great!

Thank you!

·
SuperModerator
1986/1990 W126
14,481 Posts
Welcome. Normally, buying on condition is what is recommended by experts. The original MB feel is very hard to get back once lost by poor maintenance or bad quality parts etc. A good W126 of any model is a desirable car.

It's a bit different in America though, its the only place they sold these cars with set packages of options according to engine size. Then there are effects of weather according to where in the US the car lived. Sun baked, or rust, depending.
Then there was the way they hamstrung the motors making some anaemic.

Advanced search on here is your friend. Also a good ppi inspection is definitely the best way.

·
Registered
Too many to list
9,145 Posts
Are you in Louisiana or Los Angeles ?
Go test drive a few of the most expensive ones for sale , just so you know what a good one should feel like . Then look at ones in your price range and see how close or how much worse they are In comparison . If you aren’t willing to do even that little amount of leg work you’re not ready to buy an old car.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi @tusabes,