Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone:

I am a newbie here. Please accept my apologies for any mistakes I make with postings and photos I place on here.

Since I don't have the capacity to replace the exhaust system myself on my beloved Mercedes, is it less costly and okay to have it replaced by a reputable body shop that works with police vehicles? Or should I take it to a speciality place that deals with Rolls Royces and Mercedes (I don't think they will use Mercedes parts)? Or should I even attempt to take it to the Mercedes dealer? I think they would be super expensive and would laugh at me. Plus, I called once a while ago and they wanted some sort of registration of purchase from a Mercedes dealer? I did not purchase the car from a Mercedes dealer. It was from a non Mercedes dealer, although I am the second owner of the vehicle.

Below are photos of what I could take of the under part of my car. It looks horrible and smells horrible after I had some engine work done last March at the recommendation from at my domestic car repair mechanic, whom I love dearly. The recommended repair place was a FOREIGN CAR REPAIR PLACE in business since 1954 (they didn't use Mercedes parts, they conned me for a hefty price, cosmetically damaged my car in the process and I was lied to as well, plus they conned a lot of other clients a year later and damaged their car in the process as well). The work should have been done under the the car and not under the hood.

The engine smell came through the air vent at every stop after the engine work was done and that prompted me to look under the car. That's when I saw damage. I don't think it has a heat shield covering anything now. The smell isn't terrible, it's noticeable, but most of it is probably going through the holes. It certainly isn't going to pass emissions now, that's for sure. Any ideas?

Thank you,

SmoothRider

·
Premium Member
1990 SEC
4,103 Posts