Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
W126 1990 500SE (ASR) & W126 1991 300SE
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Exhaust Manifold Removal/Respray 1991 300SE (M103)

These forums are really useful for the amateur mechanic! I'm grateful for all the help I've had here, so I am making this contribution in the hope that it will help someone in the future. Disclaimer: I'm a complete novice with limited tools and even more limited knowledge! I plan to have all the parts and tools that I'll need before I start any job, but invariably things do not go as planned. A delay normally ensues while I await new parts or tools, so hopefully someone else can benefit from my mistakes and bad luck! :)

All work carried out on a 1991 W126 300SE, which has the M103.981 engine (Mileage 92,000)

Inspired by ChrisFix painting a rocker cover -
I decided to give this a go, as my engine bay looks pretty tired. 20180718_075121.jpg

It was 'ok' but I was not satisfied with the removal of paint by hand, and also that a shiny new rocker cover made everything else look even worse - especially the rusty old manifolds.
20190426_110445.jpg

I decided that I would take off the battery tray, a known place for corrosion and trapping of leaves & dirt. Well, it is known now that I read Nik Greene's book. Along with that, I would sandblast and respray the rocker cover, air cleaner cover, and the exhaust manifolds.

The manifolds looked a little daunting, but how hard can it be? I did plenty of research and ordered up the following parts:
Exhaust Manifold Gasket (103 142 14 80) x 5
Exhaust Manifold Gasket (103 142 13 80) x 1
Engine Studs (111 990 04 05) x 13
Hexagon Nut (120 142 00 72) x 13
Manifold to Downpipe Bolts (N304017 008053) x 4
Rivet Nut (000 990 25 52) x 4
Rivet Nut Tool (103 589 01 39 00) x 1