Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I am expecting my new C230 in a few months so I have been consumed with these forums and ways to maintain the "new baby"

I am a noob to detailing and after reading so many posts that my head is spinning I have come up with the following routine and I would appreciate everyones feedback, I have decided on Meguirs based on price and availability.

I am still undecided on tire, rim and interior care and I plan to try a few different products here to achieve desired results.

Colour: White
Usage: Daily Driver
Weather: I am in Toronto so we get a good mixture of rain, snow, salt and generally bad air.

Goal: A robust finish that maintains well and obviously gives me some 'shine'

On Delivery of the new car:
Meguirs GC Wash
Meguirs Clay Bar
Meguirs DC Cleaner
Meguirs DC Polish
Meguirs DC Carnuba Wax
- This I belive will give me a good base to continue from

Weekly:
Meguirs GC Wash
Meguirs Quick Wax

Every 4-6 weeks:
Meguirs GC Wash
Meguirs Clay Bar (as required)
Meguirs DC Carnuba Wax

Every 6 months (ideally timed to the winter/summer seasons):
Meguirs GC Wash
Meguirs Clay Bar
Meguirs DC Cleaner
Meguirs DC Polish
Meguirs DC Carnuba Wax

Any thoughts or reccomendations?

Thanks.

·
Registered
363 Posts
This all sounds good to me. If you plan on taking care of the car your self and prepping the paint right when you get it, then request that no dealer prep be done on the car. Most of the time they do way more harm than good on new cars and all the stuff they do you can do yourself.

For the novice detailer, what you have planned will do fine. The Deep Crystal system is great for beginners. If you wanted to step it up a notch in shine and protection you could consider some Duragloss products (at any local carquest parts store). A comparable regimen to the meguiars listed above would be:

Dg #901 car wash concentrate
Meguiars or Clay Magic Clay bar
Dg #601 pre polishing agent