Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1983 300 CD
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first Mercedes diesel and not sure if I have a problem or not. My car has 165,000 miles and has the original injectors in it. There is a slight shake in the engine while it idles and it does not smoke. Please listen to the exhaust in the video and tell me if that is a normal sounding 617 exhaust or if I have repairs to make.

Currently I have:
Checked timing chain stretch, 1 degree off.
Checked compression, 395-400 lbs. each cylinder.
Changed fuel filters.
Adjusted valves, twice.

I have many years experience with V8 gas engines and the exhaust noise in the video sounds like a miss-firing cylinder (to me anyway).

Thanks in advance and this is a great site!

1983 300CD

·
Registered
1984 300D
5,070 Posts
You did not say if the miss/saking changes after the Engine is up to operating temp?

Air leaks inthe Fuel Fupply system can cause a rough idle.

The stock Injector Nozzles have two small drilled passages in them (see attached pic) #14 and #15 that get plugged with Carbon.
The drilled holes #14 and #15 are mostly there for idle and low amounts of fuel so it has an effect on the idle.
Sometimes something called a Diesel Purge will clean the Injector Nozzles sometimes not. Do a search for Diesel Purge.

If your Fuel Injection pump a Rack Damper pin, the other pic of the Fuel Injection Pump the yellow arrow points to what I call the Rack Damper Pin. Loosen the lock nut and slowly rotate pin in or out until you find the spot that works. There should be more detailed instruction somewhere on this forum. Don't over do turning it in; you do not want to adjust your idle speed with it.

If you have a 5 cylinde Diesel it is not going to idle as well as a V8 gasser.

Also take a good look at the Motor and Transmission mounts as well as the Engine Shock absorbers (if it has them).

Attachments

·
Registered
1983 300 CD
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
300Dman,