Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys hows it going haven't been around here for a while since I bought a vw new beetle, but anyways my 84 2.3 that is a manuel and has very low miles will die every once in a while after i push in the clutch and the rpms drop. usually the rpms drop and bounce back up except the times when it just dies and I am stuck restarting it the middle of an intersection. I am guessing it is some sort of air of fuel problem but am not sure(any ideas are welcome).So does anyone know if and where there are fuel or air adjustments I could tune to keep this from happening.
Any help and ideas are greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Nathan

· Registered
Mercedes 28E 1993 (W124)
119 Posts
heres some suggestions

Im only a newbie at this sort of thing but here goes.

Check basics like mixture, timing and plugs.
Give the idle control valve a clean with kerosine (i mean submerse the whole thing in a bucket of kerosine then allow to dry... This can be the culprate of many idle problems. I had a problem with idle so i cleaned this valve and it fast idled when it was cold! yea! hehe Umm other things could be a fuel pump / relay. Although if it only does it when load (pushing the clutch in) is removed i wouldnt think it would be this. Mixture and the idle vavle are you best starting places, oh and the OVP

cheers

josh

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey thanks for the info Josh! I was begining to think nobody knew anything about this sort...

Hey thanks for the info Josh! I was begining to think nobody knew anything about this sort of thing(even though I know there are). I'll give these things a shot and see what happens.
Thanks, Nathan

· Registered
Mercedes 28E 1993 (W124)
119 Posts
no worries! dont hesitate to ask for more help