Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post - excuse my ignorance. I own a 2001 ML55 AMG - I have had plenty of experience with M series BMWs (two m3s, two m roadsters) and I race supersport - when it comes to this truck, I am clueless as to who I should trust !! What chip / reflash should I look into ? Thanks for the help guys.

·
Registered
05 ML500 SE
1,482 Posts
The gains aren't great you know.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
wouldn't expect them to be, if I can get legitimate 10-12 HP then I would be content.

So asides from the gains not being great, which one do you recommend :p ?

·
Registered
05 ML500 SE
1,482 Posts
idk aside from just getting generic maps that most tuner shops have... maybe renntech. I bet you will get 10 hp and 20-30 ft lbs.. and perhaps removing rev limiter and remapping the accelerator maps. There is also InMotion Tuning which is cheap.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
idk aside from just getting generic maps that most tuner shops have... maybe renntech. I bet you will get 10 hp and 20-30 ft lbs.. and perhaps removing rev limiter and remapping the accelerator maps. There is also InMotion Tuning which is cheap.
Danke,

only good local tuning is KTR motorsports in my area, I don't believe they even do work on mercedes. Could be mistaken - I'll check out the InMotion Tuning.

·
Registered
2002 ML55 AMG, 2005 Chrysler Crossfire Coupe Limited, 1999 C280
4,714 Posts
I'm not critisizing you at all but; I would be wary about modifying my truck in this way.

How much faster will the truck become with 10-12 more horsepower and/or 20 lbs ft more torque?

You could probably get the same effect if you remove the spare tyre, back seats and travel with only 5 gallons of fuel in the truck and YOURSELF only as passenger.:p

·
Registered
1999 E55, 2001 E320, 1990 560 SEC, 2004 ML350, 2001 ML55, 1995 S500, 1998 SL500, 2010 E550 Sport zoo
7,035 Posts