Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Two days in a row now, only after the car has been sitting in the sun for 8+hours, when I started it I could here a rata-tat-tat noise coming from the engine compartment. At first I wondered if it was bearings going in one of the pulleys but it was not that type of sound. I then thought it may be coming from the valve cover/timing chain cover on the passenger side, maybe like a loose bicycle chain riding the chain guard. It lasted about 30 seconds before a louder tapping noise and then like that, its gone and everything is normal. Oil pressure is indicating O.K., guides apparently looked fine last time motor was opened about 3000km ago.....and it is not happening all the time, only those two times after sitting in the sun all day at work? Would the tensioner not be functioning properly right at start up?

I am not sure what to do next, I am new to these cars. Any insight or advice you guys can give me is appreciated.

Thanks, Kyle...

·
1991 500SEC 55K mi. 1987 560SEC Now 153K mi. 2020
5,457 Posts
You've recently acquired this car. V8 T/chains need to be changed at the 100K miles mark. It might be a really good idea to check out the T/chain, guide rails & tensioner... Sounds as though you have a ticking time bomb there.....

Look for Ben_Twombley's great picture posting on his timing chain.

Good luck, MBL

·
1991 500SEC 55K mi. 1987 560SEC Now 153K mi. 2020
5,457 Posts
Take a look in the DIY section. There are some scary photos of the plastic bits I refer to. If your guides are that color... whoa baby!

:eek:) MBL

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·