Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a complete newbie so I apologize if this has been covered before.

I have a 2010 ML350 Bluetec with over 170k miles. I've never replaced the timing chain or any related components. However, I'm aware that this engine is prone to timing chain and tensioner issues when over 100k/150k miles. So I'm worried about mine and would like to catch it before anything crazy happens.

I've attached a pic of the tensioner through the oil fill hole. Couldn't quite get the best look, but it's visible. Does it look over-extended? Is it bad? Should I replace? I haven't heard the 2-second rattle on cold start, so I'm a bit indecisive. However, the car has had some jerky acceleration issues and very fast deceleration when rolling to a stop lately, so I'm wondering if timing might be a good place to start.

All ideas and help are welcome. Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is the Check Eng. Light on?

Do you own your own SCANNER, not a code reader?
Thanks a lot for the reply. I had around 5 codes initially, which have cleared after working in a turbo leak and changing fuel injectors. However, there's 1 stubborn code remaining, P0088 - FUEL RAIL/SYSTEM PRESSURE TOO HIGH. The car is still a bit sluggish on acceleration and can't seem to get over 45/50mph.

Any ideas?

·
Outstanding Contributor
2006 ML500 2002 ML320
17,529 Posts
P codes do not exist in CDI or Blue. Buy a scanner.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
P codes do not exist in CDI or Blue. Buy a scanner.

Really... so the codes the reader has been showing are inaccurate?? I already have a scanner.. that's how I got the code

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yes on the really. You have a code reader and not a scanner.