Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2002 CLK 430 & 2001.5 Chevrolet Silverado Duramax EC/LB LB7
356 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone please post a picture of what the rear brake pads should look like? You don't have to take the wheel off. I just would like to know if my brake pads are worn down too far. I keep getting a squealing noise, but ONLY in reverse. I don't know what this means. (?) :confused:

P.S. In the front brakes I can see the brake pad, but in the rear I cannot. I don't know if this is right or wrong. I am still new to Mercedes design.:surrender:

Please help me out if you know anything!

-Zack

·
Registered
102 Posts
Could be your parking break shoes, you would have to remove the rear tires, and roter to check.

·
Registered
'01-E320 & 02-ST2
31,633 Posts
That is actually a fairly common issue and not indicative of pads that need to be replaced. If the pads were worn out it would make really ugly noises and not just in reverse.

Below is a picture of the rear brakes for your car. (Click to enlarge.) You could remove the caliper pin and slide out the pads, clean the backs and put more/new brake paste on them as it is a noise absorber. But it may not last long. If the pads are well-worn you could also replace them, they're pretty easy to do and inexpensive enough on-line.

Take care and enjoy the ride,
Greg

Attachments

·
Registered
356 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the quick reply you guys!

If the pads and shoes were good how long would the paste work?

-Zack

·
Registered
6 Posts
I have not had my CLK200K long and this week the brakes started squealing really loud. Had the front rotors and pads changed and all pads treated with a new type of anti squeal ceramic spray. Really good, it lasted for about 20 minutes before they started squealing again. Its going back in tomorrow for another try

·
Registered
'01-E320 & 02-ST2
31,633 Posts
Thanks for the quick reply you guys!