Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 126 Posts

·
Registered
1997 S500V
272 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I sure this topic has been covered but I just replaced mine today and had a little spare time to document this simple repair. It's a 10-15 minute job if you take your time, so simple a caveman can DO IT! I am not an expert but discovered this worked wonders for my car's A/C!

I got my blower regulator off eBay for $75 with a supposedly German OEM supplier: Hamburg Technic. I called stealership and they quoted $292 and $399 for two brands. I didn't ask but assume it's Bosch or equivalent. Autohaus has German name brands for ~$170-230 so I took a chance with eBay...

Tools needed: Philips screwdriver #2 and Torx-20 driver. That's it!

Symptoms: very weak air flow especially though out the day in Dallas, TX heat. I noticed air flow getting weaker in a period of a month. So I broke out my Fluke DVM and only measured 2-3VDC across the blower terminals. If your press REST on the climate controls for 10sec. you get into the diagnostic mode. I pressed the left AUTO button to cycle up to step 10 then adjusted (+-) fan buttons. On MAX, I only measured 4VDC. First start up in the morning yielded me 7VDC but still didn't flow a lot. When I commanded 1 or 2 bars (MIN), I got a whopping 1VDC.

So below are the snapshots with comments, hopefully I covered everything and didn't leave out anything critical...

Attachments

·
Registered
1997 S500V
272 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
More PIX...

Finals comments: I believe the former owner must have replaced the regulator since it's a BEHR made in France and had thermal paste applied sloppily all over the place. I recommend using bare minimum. Notice how some paste was over applied to the bottom heatsink with no contact to the blower housing thus acting as an insulator.