Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2,641 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been debating winch options for 2 years, I have decided: Hydro.

I happened into 3 Dayton 3VJ75 winches. 15K, Hydro.

I have been looking for Werner (Hydraulic one are rarish, esp for good condition), and coveting Rotzlers (not really wroth the $ for what I need).

Question is should I use the Daytons (front and rear?), or pass all three along to someone and stick with the German original? Anyone used they Daytons?

Thanks in advance for the feed back.

C.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,293 Posts
You should set aside the ''German original'' thought immediately and concentrate on what you need/want a winch for. If you have three daytons, they work fine,you have both front and rear covered as well as a spare.
If they are in the range that you want, go for it...
Everyone wants a Rotzler in there stocking
G Vavra

·
Registered
2,641 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The winches are still produced. You can order them from Grainger, among others. If my info is right, they are just private label Superwinch Hydro winches.

I will likely at least set one up and see what I think. They make an air clutch conversion kit which I might add.

C.

·
Registered
2,641 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

·
Premium Member
709 Posts
We had two Dayton winches on the farm when I was younger, that has been a while ago (early to mid 80's), and they were beasts. Had one on a three point hitch set-up to extract tractors with full silage wagons on the back, and it had no issue with that job.

That said, yours look a bit dinky compared to those old beasts. So perhaps the ones we had were made in a different era and were old style over-engineered (well actually under-engineered and over fudge factored).

·
Registered
2,512 Posts