Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1984 300TD
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my 1984 300 TD Turbo for about 2 months has been great until today... well a couple of days ago. Starting a couple of days ago it would not start every 2-3 times. I would just keep trying and then, voila, it'd start right up. I posted about this and a couple of people mentioned the starter. I've changed starter in 2 of my previous cars (65 Mustang and 90 Volvo 740). When starter problems began with those cars it began with that awful grinding noise. I could tap on the starter to get it going until I had a chance to change it on the weekend. In my 300TD there has been no grinding metal noise or clicking. Just nothing like when your battery is dead. Any ideas? Does this still sound like a starter? Maybe this is what it's like with a merc diesel. I'm new to these great cars and also have limited experience working on cars.

Another problem I had driving to work today. The car fired up great, drove about 20 miles fine and just before I got to work I was driving up hill and the rpm's slowly began to drop until the car "stalled." I tried to start again and I had the same start up issue. I had the gas pedal fully depressed when I started to lose power if that helps. After the tow truck driver dropped off my car at work, I tried to start up the car and voila! It fired and revved right up.

I'm not sure if these two issues are related. I suspect they are not. Also, the car has weak-ish power to begin with but I figured I would address it when I had a chance. It would drive gutless up hills even when flooring the pedal. Not to the point where I was concerned though.