Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
1980 450SL; 1984 500SEC Euro; 1991 560 SEC
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I have searched and not found a reference to this. My center console burlwood must be replaced. I have several pieces that I have acquired through parts cars and one perfect piece I bought when a complete newbie not understanding the many switch variations.

My question is the perfect piece that I have is missing two switch openings. Has anyone cut switch openings into a piece and was it successful? I worry it could cause delamination around the area I cut.

Any help as always appreciated.

·
Registered
'82 Euro 500SEL, '85 Euro 500SEC AMG WB Cabriolet,'86 Euro 500SEC RUF
9,487 Posts
Dave,
FWIW I think I would end up botching the hole cutting, so I would not even try.

If this is for the seat heater switches, why not move them to the coin tray, much easier and will look good as you have updated the interior to Gen II. Coin trays with switches can be found in the yards. Or if need be,much easier to find the coin tray piece or cut an existing one.

Second thought, send the original console wood to Madeira and have it refinished and maybe send the new one to be cut. If anyone would know how and be able to pull it off it would be Madeira Concepts.

In the meantime use switches in the coin tray. I you acquire a coin tray with the switches, just unplug the original switches and tape up the connectors and leave them under the new wood. you can splice off the leads to wire up the switches in the coin tray. That way when the original js restored or one like it is found, your switch wiring and connectors are still in place and you just need to do away with the splices and the switch/coin tray. Just a couple ideas.

·
Premium Member
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Charlie,